Who We Are
Our history traces to the establishment of the English colonies at Jamestown. Our current sanctuary, the 3rd on this site, was constructed in 1755 and the parish was established in 1642.
Over the years our church has received modifications including renewed interior wood paneling installed in the 1880s by William Channing Whitney. Yet with all the modifications our church stands as a tribute to the 21-inch- thick brickwork that was laid in a Flemish bond pattern and 18-inch square English limestone in the aisle.
Our church has been hallowed through the years serving as a sanctuary during the early colonial years while tending to the poor and needy; ministering to soldiers during 2 wars fought nearby; and nearly 4 centuries of community involvement.